Skip to content ↓

Holy Family Catholic Primary School


Following the guidance of the Bishops of England and Wales and as advocated by the DfE, RSE will be firmly embedded in the PSHE framework as it is concerned with nurturing human wholeness and integral to the physical, spiritual, emotional, moral, social and intellectual development of pupils. It is centred on Christ’s vision of being human as good news and will be positive and prudent, showing the potential for development, while enabling the dangers and risks involved to be understood and appreciated.

All Relationship, Sex and Health Education (RSHE) will be in accordance with the Church’s moral teaching. It will emphasise the central importance of marriage and the family whilst acknowledging that all pupils have a fundamental right to have their life respected whatever household they come from. It will also prepare pupils for life in modern Britain.

At Holy Family, we aim to provide a suitable programme that follows the statutory need to include RSHE into our curriculum from September 2020 and meets the ethos of our Catholic identity and mission. To support the teaching of RSHE within Holy Family, we use Jigsaw and ‘A Journey in Love’. Jigsaw is a programme we have followed for a number of years now and there is information about what is included in the programme here:

‘A Journey in Love’ is a resource created by Sister Jude Groden of BRES. It is the recommended programme of study for Catholic schools for Relationships and Sex Education, and has been written as a progressive scheme of work that supports the Religious Education, PSHE and Science curricula taught within the school. This resource has been recently revised to ensure it is up to date and links where appropriate to DfE guidelines.

Throughout ‘A Journey in Love’, an aspect of the mystery of love is focussed upon in each group. Children and young people are encouraged to marvel at the wonder and beauty of God’s creative love. This is reflected in each stage of a person’s growth in the Primary Years through a series of suggested, progressive and developmental tasks, activities and reflections which focus on physical, social, emotional, intellectual and spiritual development.

As with all aspects of learning, children are naturally curious and many will have questions related to their lessons. Opportunities to discuss questions form part of the lessons and again these are treated with care and understanding.

‘A Journey in Love’ highlights the importance of parental input and children will be told to discuss their lessons at home. As a parent, you have the right to withdraw your child from Sex Education at any time if you wish to do so, however, this is not to be confused with Science topics such as ‘Life Cycles’ as they are statutory requirements and we would encourage you contact your child’s teacher on Dojo to find out what’s included in the programme before making that decision. Alternatively, you can arrange a phone appointment with me by emailing FAO Mr Harding.

The Jigsaw scheme of work includes:

•          Reception - Growing up: how we have changed since we were babies.

•         Year One - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; correct names for body parts.

•         Year Two - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; body parts and respecting privacy (which parts of the body are private and why this is).

•         Year Three - How babies grow and how boys’ and girls’ bodies change as they grow older. Introduction to puberty and menstruation.

•         Year Four - Internal and external reproductive body parts. Recap about puberty and menstruation. Conception explained in simple terms.

•         Year Five - Puberty for boys and girls in more detail including the social and emotional aspects of becoming an adolescent. Conception explained in simple biological terms.

•         Year Six - Puberty for boys and girls revisited. Understanding conception to the birth of a baby. Becoming a teenager. All lessons are taught using correct terminology, child-friendly language.

‘A Journey in Love’ includes:

•             Reception - God loves each of us in our uniqueness

•             Year One - We meet God’s love in our family

•             Year Two - We meet God’s love in the community

•             Year Three - How we live in love

•             Year Four - God loves us in our differences

•             Year Five - God loves me in my changing and development

•             Year Six - The wonder of God’s love in creating new life